//
you're reading...
Other

Creative Commons and my old music catalog

Before I started to work as a designer I created music as a hobby. Even though after a year hiatus I decided not to continue with it I thought it would be a nice idea to make my old catalog available again as downloadable creative commons.

I think Creative Commons is the structure that can and I think eventually will save not only the music industry but the film and related creative industries too. Let’s face it, as people struggle to make ends meet they will be less and less willing to give money for creative and entertainment purposes while their hunger for it is not going to disappear.(Let’s hope..) That can only lead to piracy but if we meet them halfway, letting them downloading or even use our  product for non-commercial purposes what we get is a happy customer who may eventually give money for extras or for a  license to use it for commercial purposes. Also while sharing and talking about our product they provide free advertisement. I see it as a win-win situation.

Of course this may not work with huge commercial companies but for the independent artist it can be a way to maximize gain while still giving some love away freely.

So if you’re interested in my old music experiments I put them up from time to time to Soundcloud. http://soundcloud.com/bernadett-bon

About Flypaperpaint

Fantasy illustrations, comics, character design & children's book illustrations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

April 2012
M T W T F S S
    May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

License

Ask permission before you take anything from this blog for any purpose. (c)

Contact me

e-mail: bernadettbon (a) yahoo.com

Categories

bloglovin
free counters
